“Hongkong Holiday” 1957

My grandmother whom I call Nanay celebrated her 86th birthday this month. When I was still an elementary student and classes were only half-day, I remember watching Tagalog classics with her every afternoon. RPN Channel 9 used to show some of these movies in black and white which I surprisingly enjoyed. Well, I like anything that is old and Filipino. I think my sense of nostalgia was already high at a very early age. I was about 8 years old.

Recently, I came across this poster of “Hongkong Holiday” circa 1957 starring Gloria Romero, Ric Rodrigo, Paraluman, Dolphy and Daisy Romualdez; co-starring Tony Cayado, Aring Bautista and Liza Ferrer; screenplay by Luciano Carlos; and directed by Mar Torres. It was produced by Sampaguita Pictures and Golden City Film Co. What struck me was that along with Nestor Robles who was responsible for the musical score, the Hongkong Symphony Orchestra was included in the billing. Was the whole film shot in Hong Kong?!

I don’t actually recall seeing this particular movie before with my Nanay. I tried searching the internet for a full upload but did not find any. Oh well, the poster will have to do for now.

Hongkong Holiday movie poster

Source: http://dolphyfilmography.blogspot.com/2008/03/1957-hongkong-holiday.html.

0 Responses to ““Hongkong Holiday” 1957”



  1. Mag-iwan ng Puna

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

THE BLOG AND THE AUTHOR:

...sapagkat ang gobyerno natin ay may "cash cow mentality" pagdating sa mga Overseas Filipino Workers.

(Read On "Milking the Cash Cow")

...sapagkat ako ay isa ring OFW; may mithiin, marunong magisip at nagnanais marinig... Makabagong bayani daw... Sa totoo'y tampok na gatasan ng pamahalaan. (English)

Subscribe to cashcow feed
Add to Technorati Favorites

RSS What’s new in Shuttercow?

Blog Stats

  • 118,111 hits
blogarama - the blog directory
Sali Na! Join the Pinoy Wordpress Bloggers Community!

